JOINT COMMITTEE FOR THE NORTH OF ENGLAND OPEN-AIR MUSEUM

At a Meeting of the Joint Committee for the North of England Open-Air Museum held in the Collections Study Room, Regional Resource Centre, Beamish Museum on Friday 8 July 2011 at 10.00 a.m.

PRESENT:

Members of the Joint Committee

Councillors J Bell, Blakey, Carr, D Marshall and Wright (Durham County Council) Goldsworthy and Green (Gateshead MBC) Kerr (South Tyneside MBC) and R Bell, Foster, Richardson and Walker (Sunderland City Council)

Co-opted Members (Non-Voting)

Friends - Mr A Ashburner

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Bailey, Gittins, Iveson, C Marshall, Naylor, Thomson, Todd and J Wilson (Durham County Council), Mortimer (North Tyneside MBC), Cunningham, Dixon and Maxwell (South Tyneside MBC) Kelly (Sunderland City Council), Mrs Stewart (Beamish Development Trust) and Mr Dix (Friends)

1 Election of Chairman

Resolved:

That Councillor D Marshall of the Durham County Council be elected Chairman of the Joint Committee for the ensuing year.

Councillor D Marshall in the Chair

2 Appointment of Vice Chairman

Resolved:

That Councillor R Bell of the City of Sunderland Council be appointed Vice-Chairman of the Joint Committee for the ensuing year.

3 Appointment of Co-Opted Members

The Secretary reported that he had received the following nominations for co-option onto the Joint Committee:-

- (i) Friends Mr A Ashburner and Mr M Dix
- (ii) Beamish Development Trust Mr S Gray, Mrs E Hunter and Mrs S Stewart

Resolved:

That the following be appointed as Co-opted Members of the Joint Committee:-

Mr A Ashburner and Mr M Dix (Friends)
Mr S Gray, Mrs E Hunter and Mrs S Stewart (Beamish Development Trust)

- 4 Constitution and Appointment of Sub-Committees
- (i) Finance and General Purposes

Resolved:

- (i) That the constitution of the Finance and General Purposes Sub-Committee be the Chairman and Vice-Chairman of the Joint Committee together with two Members from each Constituent Authority provided that the number of each Authority's Members on the Finance and General Purposes Sub-Committee does not exceed the number of that Authority's members on the Joint Committee, together with one co-opted Member (non-voting) from the Friends of the Museum.
- (ii) That the Members for 2011/12 are to be as follows:

Councillor D Marshall (Chairman) Councillor R Bell (Vice-Chairman) Councillors Carr and L Thomson (Durham) Councillors Goldsworthy and Green (Gateshead) Councillor Mortimer (North Tyneside) Councillors Maxwell and Kerr (South Tyneside) Councillors Kelly and Speding (Sunderland) Mr A Ashburner (Non-voting Co-opted Member).

(iii) That in the absence of nominated Members representing Constituent Authorities substitutes be allowed to attend.

(ii) Emergencies Sub-Committee

Resolved:

That the membership of the Emergencies Sub-Committee be as follows:-

The Chairman and Vice-Chairman of the Joint Committee together with two other Members to be nominated by the Secretary in consultation with the Chairman and Vice-Chairman, if available.

(iii) Tenders Sub-Committee

Resolved:

That the membership of the Tenders Sub-Committee be as follows:-

The Chairman and Vice-Chairman of the Joint Committee together with two other Members to be nominated by the Secretary in consultation with the Chairman and Vice-Chairman, if available.

5 Appointment of Chairmen and Vice-Chairmen of Sub-Committees

Resolved:

That the Chairman and Vice-Chairman of the Joint Committee be the Chairman and Vice-Chairman of all Sub-Committees.

6 Times of Future Meetings

Resolved:

That future meetings of the Joint Committee would commence at 10.00 a.m.

7 Capital Projects Update

The Museum Director gave a detailed presentation on visitor numbers and progress on capital projects (for copy see file of Minutes).